Venue Guide

Blank Canvas & BYO Wedding Venues

Last updated: August 2026 · Written by Gilbert “Gibo” Cortes

The short answer: a genuinely open dry-hire venue in Auckland is rarer than the listings suggest, and the thing that decides your whole build isn’t the hire fee — it’s what kitchen the venue actually gives your caterer. Only one venue in this guide publishes a fully equipped commercial kitchen. One publishes that it has none at all. Most publish a prep bench and a chiller and call it a kitchen.

And going blank canvas will not save you money. It buys you permission — your caterer, your guest count, your finish time, your look. That’s a real reason to do it. Saving money isn’t.

Couples come to a blank canvas for one of three reasons. Their family’s caterer is non-negotiable. Their guest list is 250 and no vineyard in Auckland will take it. Or they’ve seen what a fully art-directed room looks like and no packaged venue will let them build it.

All three are good reasons. What follows is what each venue actually publishes — and where the money and the risk really sit, which is almost never where the listicles put it.

1. The three kinds of “BYO”

“BYO” on a venue’s website can mean three completely different things, and couples routinely book the wrong one.

  1. BYO drinks only. You supply alcohol; the venue supplies and cooks the food. Common, and often mislabelled as BYO on directory sites.
  2. BYO catering. You bring a caterer; the venue may still control the bar.
  3. Full dry hire. You bring everything — caterer, drinks, furniture, glassware, sometimes the kitchen itself.

The gap between (1) and (3) is tens of thousands of dollars and about forty decisions. Ask which one you’re being sold, in those words.

One more distinction that catches people: several Auckland venues let you supply alcohol but explicitly forbid guests bringing their own. BRAD’S Warehouse publishes that the hirer supplies all alcohol and guests may not bring their own; Whispering Waters publishes the same. That isn’t fussiness — it’s a licensing boundary, and breaching it is your problem, not theirs.

2. The kitchen question that decides everything

Ask every venue one question: “What exactly does my caterer get?” Not “is there a kitchen” — the answers to that are technically true and practically useless. Of the Auckland venues in this guide, only Leigh Central publishes a fully equipped commercial kitchen. Waterfall Farm publishes that it has none, and requires a self-contained mobile caterer. Most of the rest publish a prep bench, a sink and a chiller.

This single line changes your catering quote more than your menu does. A caterer walking into a commercial kitchen quotes a normal service. A caterer walking into two trestle tables and a chiller quotes a full mobile-kitchen build — trucks, gas, refrigeration, generators, staff to run all of it.

What the Auckland venues actually publish:

  • Leigh Central — “fully equipped commercial kitchen.” The only one in this guide.
  • Waterfall Farm — “Since there are no kitchen facilities at Waterfall Farm, you are required to hire a professional, self-contained mobile caterer, as well as any plates/cutlery you will use.” That is admirably direct, and it tells you exactly what to budget.
  • BRAD’S Warehouse — “dedicated catering space including ample prep benches, sinks, walk-in chillers, boiling water.” No full commercial kitchen.
  • Whispering Waters — “we don’t have a commercial kitchen however we have a dedicated catering space with sink, drinks chillers and food service trestles.”
  • Warblers Retreat — bar area, fridges, dishwasher, microwave, commercial-grade BBQ.
  • View14 — a domestic kitchen: gas stove, oven, large fridge, dishwasher. Fine for twenty guests, not for a hundred.

The only published kitchen surcharge found anywhere in Auckland is Mt Eden Village Centre’s, at $54.50 on top of the hall hire. Everywhere else, if there’s a charge, you’ll have to ask.

Take your caterer to the site visit. Not a photo of the kitchen — the caterer, standing in it. They will see in ninety seconds what you’d miss in an hour, and their quote will be real instead of provisional.

3. Auckland venues that genuinely allow outside catering

Everything below is from each venue’s own website, August 2026. Not published means they don’t state it — ask, don’t assume.

Venue-published facts only. Prices change without notice and most venues don’t state GST status — confirm both directly.
VenueAreaCapacityCateringKitchenAlcoholPublished hireFinish
BRAD’S WarehouseCity centre380 seated
506 standing
Fully openPrep benches, sinks, walk-in chillersYou supply; guests may notNot publishedMusic & bar 12am
out 12.30am
HastieNewmarket650 standingFully openKitchen counter / prepBYO. Venue not licensed to sell$275/hr weekdays;
evenings & weekends on enquiry
Not published
Waterfall FarmKaukapakapa120 seatedRequired — mobile catererNoneBYO; bar service $1,000$8,500 (24/25 season)
+ $2,000 bond
Music 11.30pm
out 12am
Songbird RetreatMatakana150Open + curated listNot publishedBYO, no corkageSignature 3 days from $14,995;
midweek from $6,995
11pm weekends
10pm weekdays
Le LongbarnWellsford120 seated undercoverNot publishedNot publishedNot published$8,900 (40) to $11,600 (120)
incl GST, mid-Oct–April
Not published
Vanderosa FarmsLeigh / Pakiri150 seated
barn 216m²
Fully openNot published — warns generators needed for chillersBYO, no corkageNot publishedNot published
Whispering WatersKumeū80 (micro 30)Fully openSink, chillers, trestles. No commercial kitchenYou supply; guests may not. Bar manager required$7,200+GST (40)
$8,950+GST (80)
$3,785+GST (30)
Hire 9am–10pm
Leigh CentralMatakana Coast130 seatedOpen — choice of catererFully equipped commercial kitchenBYO beveragesNot publishedNoise management after 10pm
BeaufordsTotara Park140OpenNot publishedNot publishedNot published7 hrs exclusive use
Mechanics BaySolent StNot publishedDry hire, preferred supplier listNot publishedBYO, no corkageNot published24-hour hire from 8 or 10am
HUs Art FarmRiverhead150 licensed
gallery 85 seated
OpenNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Warblers RetreatNative forest32 seatedOpenBar, fridges, dishwasher, BBQBYO$450/hr incl GSTNot published
The Ever Room203 K RoadStudio 152m² + 55m² cycNot publishedKitchenette + fridgeNot publishedOn applicationNot published
Mt Eden Village CentreMt EdenPlans on requestPermittedKitchen charged separatelyNot publishedChurch $615 · Hall $80.50/hr
Kitchen $54.50 · bond $500
Not published
View14Mt Eden20 guestsNot publishedDomestic kitchenNot published$1,950–$3,500 by package
+ $500 bond
Not published

What’s included — because this is where the real cost sits

A venue that includes furniture and glassware for 120 guests has quietly saved you several thousand dollars in hire. One that doesn’t hasn’t told you anything false — it just isn’t comparable.

  • Le Longbarn publishes furniture, table linen, indoor and outdoor lighting, decor and signage, glassware and cutlery included, plus luxury portaloo hire and two nights’ accommodation for ten. That’s an unusually complete list for a venue this size.
  • Beaufords publishes tables and chairs with cutlery, crockery and glassware for every guest, a clear marquee with fairy lights, floral centrepieces and a coordinator.
  • Waterfall Farm includes 120 chairs, 20 vintage trestle tables, a marquee with festoon and fairy lights, and a chapel — plus site access a full day before and half a day after, which is genuinely generous and worth more than it sounds.
  • Warblers Retreat includes tables, chairs, crockery, glassware, sound system, fairy lights, outdoor heaters and cleaning.
  • BRAD’S Warehouse includes the space, basic Bluetooth house sound, ambient lighting, cleaning and bins — and explicitly excludes furniture, bar, tableware, glassware and additional PA. On 380 guests, that exclusion is a very large number.
  • Mechanics Bay publishes plainly that “furniture is not included.”

Exclusivity and set-up time

Songbird Retreat publishes that it takes “only a handful of weddings each year,” with three days’ exclusive use on its Signature package. Waterfall Farm gives a day before and half a day after. Mechanics Bay runs a 24-hour hire. BRAD’S starts at 10am on the day and requires everything out by 9am the next morning, with an early-access fee available.

If you’re building a real production — full drape, a mandap, a lighting rig, three hundred place settings — the install window matters more than the hire fee. Ask for it in hours, in writing, as a separate number from guest time.

4. Blank canvas to look at, closed to cater

Several of Auckland’s most striking spaces read as blank canvas and are not. If your caterer is the reason you’re going this route, these four will not work — regardless of how the room photographs.

  • Shed 10 and Viaduct Events Centre (Auckland Conventions). Spectacular, and absolute: “there are no exceptions to this and our accredited caterers provide all food and beverages consumed on our premises.” No outside catering, no BYO alcohol. Shed 10 seats 750 banquet.
  • Orakei Bay. “With the exception of your wedding cake, Orakei Bay will supply all of your catering.” BYO champagne only. Published hire $2,700 Sunday–Thursday, $3,200 Friday–Saturday, ceremony +$600, minimum spend $6,000–$15,000, latest finish midnight.
  • Glasshouse Morningside. Catering is in-house. BYO drinks are allowed, delivered on the morning, with glassware at additional cost and venue staff serving. One event per day. Bar and band finish 11.30pm, guests out at midnight.
  • Manukau Event Centre. Genuinely generous, but partial — they’ll serve food you bring alongside their menu at no charge, which is not the same as bringing your own caterer.

Heritage properties like Alberton and Highwic publish capacities — 50 seated indoors, 70 cocktail, 70 on the lawn, 100 with a marquee — but no catering or alcohol policy at all. Widely-circulated claims about their BYO rules come from directories, not from Heritage New Zealand. Ring them.

5. Marquee on private land

The most important number here is 100m². Under that, and up for less than 30 days, a marquee needs no building consent in Auckland. Over it, consent is required. At standard planning ratios — about 1.2m² per seated guest — 100m² is roughly 83 seated guests before you add a bar, a dance floor or a band. Any real 100-guest seated wedding under canvas is over the line. At the premium end, consent is the norm, not the exception.

Auckland Council published rules, August 2026.
TriggerRule
Marquee under 100m², up under 30 daysNo building consent required
Marquee over 100m²Building consent required
Marquee up longer than a monthBuilding consent required
Stages or gantries over 1.5m, structures over 2.5mBuilding consent required
Wedding on private propertyNo council event permit — “we do not permit events on private property”
Event flowing onto council landEvent permit required

Auckland Council doesn’t publish a fee or a processing time for a temporary-structure building consent, and I’m not going to invent one — figures circulating on wedding blogs are unsourced. Ring the council early, because “early” here means months, not weeks. Your marquee company usually manages the application, but confirm in writing who is doing it.

Who builds them in Auckland

  • Flagship Events — the exclusive New Zealand provider of Sperry sailcloth tents. If you’ve saved an image of a wedding under handcrafted sailcloth with a timber floor, this is the supplier. No published pricing.
  • Stretch Tents NZ — stretch tents freestanding on grass or attached to a building, joinable, 1 to 1,000 guests. Publishes snaplock flooring at $12/sqm + GST up to 160sqm, and a slate-look dance floor at $625 + GST installed.
  • Lucy’s Events — clear and Hampton marquees with full manufacturing certificates. Deliberately publishes no fixed price: “every marquee quote is built around your guest numbers, site and the furniture, flooring and lighting you need.”
  • Silver Fern Marquees — Pukekohe. Publishes the sizing ratio worth planning against: about 1.2m² per guest seated, 0.7m² cocktail, and a four-step site assessment.
  • Social Nature Movement — StarShade and framed marquees with a published capacity table, noting capacities are indicative before dance floors, bars, catering stations and staging.

What a marquee build actually costs

The only published New Zealand figure comes from a hire company’s own guide: $8,000–$20,000 for a typical 60–120 guest marquee wedding, with a clear marquee typically a minimum of $10,000 and a stretch tent a minimum of $6,000 — each including installation, pack-down, basic lighting, furniture and a dance floor. On-day coordination is put at around $2,500. All of that is before florals, styling, signage and decor.

Treat that as the floor, not the number. A sailcloth build with lining, chandeliers, a timber floor, a bathroom trailer and a generator is a different exercise entirely, and nobody publishes what it costs — because it’s quoted per site, every time.

Power, water and bathrooms — the three that get forgotten

Power. A rural venue with mains power still may not carry a caterer’s chillers plus a band plus festoon runs. Vanderosa Farms tells couples directly that “additional power generators are required for chillers or catering equipment.” Published Auckland generator day rates:

Indicative daily rates published by an Auckland hire company; GST status not stated. Weekend rates approximately 1.5× daily. Recommended for events: 20–45 kVA silenced.
UnitPer day
2 kVA inverter$60–$90
6–8 kVA petrol$95–$140
10–15 kVA site diesel$140–$220
20–45 kVA three-phase$240–$380
60 kVA three-phase$380–$480

Bathrooms. Published New Zealand luxury trailer rates run roughly $300–$600 a day for two to three stalls, $600–$1,000 for four to six, and $1,000–$2,500+ for seven or more. Delivery is $50–$150 within 30km and $150–$500+ rural — so a remote site multiplies every delivery fee on the job, not just this one.

Worth knowing: no New Zealand supplier publishes a rate card for a genuinely premium multi-stall trailer at a wedding. Those figures come from a hire company’s guide, not a price list. Get a written quote for your actual site.

Water, ground and light. Running water has to reach the bathrooms. The ground has to take stakes. Flooring is a separate line item from the tent — at $12/sqm, a 200m² build is $2,400 before anyone stands on it. And outside the marquee it will be pitch black unless you light the paths, the car park and the toilets. Festoon runs about $40 per 10-metre string.

6. What a dry hire actually costs you

Here’s the full take-on list, with real published Auckland prices where they exist. The honest finding: most of this market doesn’t publish rates at all — bar staff, security, cleaning, refrigeration and catering equipment are almost entirely quote-only. That’s not a gap in this guide; it’s a gap in the market, and it’s why dry-hire budgets are so hard to pin down before you commit.

Published Auckland hire prices, August 2026. GST status as stated by each supplier.
LinePublished price
ChairsWood crossback $9.75 incl cushion & GST · folding $6.70 · Chiavari $9.90 · cane peacock $70.00 · Louis II $45.00 · bar stools $21.50 (all incl GST)
TablesWood trestle $12.00 (1.8m) / $13.80 (2.4m) · banquet trestle $28 · rustic farm $52.00 / $57.50 · round $20.70 / $23 (all incl GST)
Glassware & tablewareSlimline glasses $1.50 · gold cutlery $1.00 each · ice buckets $15.00 · cake stand $15.00 (GST status not stated)
LightingFestoon $40 per 10m · coloured festoon 20m $55 incl GST · uplights $50 incl GST · fairy light curtains $300–$650 incl install · illuminated dance floor from $60/m²
PA / soundPortable PA $85 · powered PA $99 single / $195 twin · 15″ system $290 · wireless mic $65
HeatingMarquee heater $480 + GST incl full diesel tank · area heaters $100–$120 excl GST
GeneratorSee table above — $240–$380/day for the event-grade unit
Bathroom trailer$300–$2,500+/day by size, plus delivery
Security$38 + GST per hour per guard — the only Auckland venue publishing a rate (BRAD’S, mandatory where alcohol is present, and must be their team)
Bar staff / duty managerNot published by any Auckland supplier found. One publishes a 3-hour minimum only.
Catering equipment & refrigerationNot published. Quote-only across the market.
Cleaning & wasteMostly bundled or quoted. Skip bin hire from about $150.
Wedding insurancePackages from about $200 to $1,000, with up to $5m third-party liability cover

Who carries the risk

At a packaged venue, the venue carries most of it. At a dry hire, you do — and that transfer is the part nobody puts in the brochure.

  • Vendor insurance is your problem, enforced by the venue. BRAD’S requires every external vendor to hold relevant certifications and business insurance.
  • Work at height needs an approved supplier. Glasshouse requires one, plus health and safety documentation. If your styling involves rigging anything, that’s a specialist, not your florist on a ladder.
  • Security can be compulsory and non-negotiable. At BRAD’S it’s required whenever alcohol is present, and it’s the one vendor category you cannot bring yourself.
  • A bar manager can be required even at a BYO venue — Whispering Waters requires one.
  • An unlicensed venue cannot sell alcohol for you. Hastie states plainly it is not licensed to sell alcohol.

You’ll see advice that public liability insurance costs “about 7% of your hire spend.” No New Zealand source publishes a percentage. The published New Zealand figures are flat wedding-insurance packages of roughly $200 to $1,000. Get a quote rather than a rule of thumb.

7. The alcohol question — most pages get this wrong

Auckland Council states that a special licence is required if you are selling alcohol, or charging an entry fee or collecting donations where alcohol is supplied free. It also states that special licences cannot be issued where alcohol is supplied free of charge by the host, or where the event is BYO.

So at a private wedding where you buy the alcohol and give it to your guests, with no ticket, cash bar, entry fee or koha at the door, a special licence isn’t required — and on the council’s own wording, couldn’t be issued anyway. The licence attaches to the sale, not the drinking.

This matters because a lot of New Zealand wedding content says the opposite, and one widely-read guide sends couples toward a “temporary authority” or a club licence through ARLA — which doesn’t describe a wedding at all.

Where you do cross the line: the moment anyone runs a cash bar, sells drink tickets, or takes a koha at the door in exchange for entry where drinks are free. Then you’re in licence territory, and the fees are set nationally by regulation:

Sale and Supply of Alcohol (Fees) Regulations 2013. The regulations state these fees are exclusive of GST.
GuestsClassFee (excl GST)
Under 100 (“small event”)Class 3$55
100–400 (“medium event”)Class 2$180
Over 400 (“large event”)Class 1$500

Apply at least 20 working days before the event, and allow extra over Christmas and New Year when the working-day count pauses — in practice, a February wedding needing a licence is a November application. A special licence holder must generally appoint a certificated manager.

This is a summary of what Auckland Council and the regulations state, not legal advice. Confirm your own circumstances with the council before you commit — and if your venue is licensed, none of this is your problem.

8. Is it worth it?

Not if you’re doing it to save money. Once you’ve added the marquee, furniture, glassware, kitchen, refrigeration, bar staff, security, generator, bathrooms, lighting, cleaning and insurance, a dry hire usually lands at or above a comparable all-inclusive venue — and you’ve absorbed the project management yourself.

It’s worth it when the thing you need can’t be bought any other way.

Go blank canvas when:

  • Your family’s caterer is non-negotiable — which for most Indian, Chinese, Filipino, Pasifika and halal weddings, it is.
  • Your guest list is 250 or 400 and the venues that can hold it won’t give you the rest of what you need.
  • You need a dry bar and don’t want to pay a minimum spend built on alcohol.
  • You want a genuinely art-directed room, not a venue’s house style with your flowers in it.
  • You need the day to run past a packaged venue’s curfew.
  • You want an umu, a hāngī, an open flame, or a set-up that takes two days.

Don’t, when: you want a beautiful wedding for less money, or you don’t have someone — a planner, or one very organised person — whose actual job on the day is running the build.

The couples I’ve watched do this brilliantly all had one thing in common: they weren’t trying to save money, and they knew exactly which single thing the venue had to allow. Everything else followed from that.

Building something from scratch?
Blank-canvas days run differently — longer set-up, harder light, more moving parts. Happy to talk through how a build day actually photographs before you commit to a site.

Ask Gibo about venues

Frequently asked questions

Which Auckland wedding venues allow outside catering?

Venues publishing that they allow outside catering include BRAD’S Warehouse in the city centre, Hastie in Newmarket, Waterfall Farm in Kaukapakapa (which requires a self-contained mobile caterer), Vanderosa Farms near Pakiri, Whispering Waters in Kumeū, Songbird Retreat in Matakana, Leigh Central, HUs Art Farm in Riverhead, Warblers Retreat, Beaufords in Totara Park and Mechanics Bay. Auckland Live venues including Shed 10 and the Viaduct Events Centre do not — their published policy is accredited caterers only with no exceptions.

Do Auckland dry hire venues have commercial kitchens?

Mostly no, and it’s the question that changes your catering quote most. Of the Auckland venues publishing details, only Leigh Central states a fully equipped commercial kitchen. Waterfall Farm publishes that it has no kitchen facilities at all and requires a self-contained mobile caterer. BRAD’S Warehouse and Whispering Waters both publish a prep and chilling space rather than a kitchen. Take your caterer to the site visit — they’ll assess it in minutes and quote accurately.

Do I need a liquor licence for a wedding on private property in New Zealand?

Generally no. Auckland Council states a special licence is needed if you are selling alcohol, or charging an entry fee or collecting donations where alcohol is supplied free — and that special licences cannot be issued for events where the host supplies alcohol free of charge, or where the event is BYO. So a private wedding where you buy the alcohol and give it to guests, with no cash bar or entry charge, doesn’t require one. If anyone sells drinks or charges entry, you do: $55 plus GST under 100 guests, $180 for 100–400, $500 above 400, applied for at least 20 working days ahead.

Does a wedding marquee need council consent in Auckland?

Yes, if it’s over 100 square metres or up for more than 30 days. Auckland Council requires a building consent above that threshold, and also for stages over 1.5 metres or structures over 2.5 metres. At standard planning ratios of roughly 1.2 square metres per seated guest, 100 square metres is about 83 seated guests before a bar, dance floor or band — so most real marquee weddings need consent. No council event permit is required for a wedding on private property, though one is needed if the event flows onto council land.

How much does a marquee wedding cost in New Zealand?

The only published New Zealand figure puts a typical 60–120 guest marquee wedding at $8,000 to $20,000, with a clear marquee usually a minimum of $10,000 and a stretch tent a minimum of $6,000, each including installation, pack-down, basic lighting, furniture and a dance floor. That’s before florals, styling and coordination, which is put at around $2,500. Treat it as a floor — a sailcloth build with lining, timber flooring, a bathroom trailer and a generator is quoted per site and nobody publishes it.

Is a blank canvas or DIY wedding cheaper than a venue?

Usually not. Once you’ve added marquee, furniture, glassware, kitchen equipment, refrigeration, bar staff, security, generator, bathrooms, lighting, cleaning and insurance, a dry hire commonly lands at or above a comparable all-inclusive venue — and you take on the project management. Blank canvas is worth it when you need permission rather than savings: your own caterer, a very large guest list, a dry bar, a later finish, or a genuinely art-directed room.

Can guests bring their own alcohol to an Auckland BYO venue?

Often not, even at BYO venues. BRAD’S Warehouse publishes that the hirer supplies all alcohol and guests may not bring their own, and Whispering Waters publishes the same distinction. It’s a licensing boundary rather than a preference, and breaching it is the couple’s risk. Ask each venue specifically whether the rule applies to you as the hirer or to your guests as well.

What does a dry hire venue not include?

Frequently furniture, glassware, tableware, bar equipment and PA. BRAD’S Warehouse publishes that furniture, bar, tableware, glassware and additional PA are all excluded; Mechanics Bay states furniture is not included. Others are far more complete — Le Longbarn publishes furniture, linen, lighting, decor, glassware and cutlery plus luxury portaloo hire, and Beaufords includes cutlery, crockery and glassware for every guest. Always ask for the inclusions list in writing before comparing hire fees.

Where to go next

Every venue detail on this page came from that venue’s own published pages as at August 2026, and “not published” means the policy isn’t stated online rather than that the answer is no. Several widely-repeated claims about Auckland BYO venues come from directories and contradict what the venues themselves publish — those have been left out. Venue policies and hire prices change without notice; always confirm directly. General information, not legal advice.